All-purpose Seasoning Blend

If you notice anything consistent within most of my recipes, I use a lot of the same spices as sort of a “base blend” and work other flavor components into that specific mix to cater to each individual recipe I create.
For pretty much as long as I’ve been cooking, I’ve found myself reaching for the same spices for most of my dishes that don’t require a deep flavor base (with spices like cumin, coriander, chili powder, garam masala, etc.). To avoid reaching for multiple spice bottles, I’ve decided that just combining the spices that I use into one blend would be more convenient (or lazy, whatever), for me.
For this mixture, just combine the following in a mason jar or an empty spice container. If you plan on making a larger quantity, just follow the basic ratio of the 5 parts.
  • 4 tbsp kosher salt
  • 2 tbsp onion or garlic powder
  • 2 tbsp paprika
  • 1 tbsp black pepper
  • 1 tbsp crushed red pepper flakes

Enjoy over veggies, meats, grains, and anything else you could think of, really!

Leave a Reply

